Authentic Tortillas From Scratch

I’ve never been to Mexico.

That’s really sad to say. It’s my neighboring country, a place where I know hundreds of people from, and a place that I’ve always wanted to visit. I can’t even say that I’ve been to Puerta Vallarta, Riviera Maya, or Cancun, which I know neither of which are actual Mexico, but at least they’re in the country. I do, however, thoroughly enjoy most all things Mexican cusine: tacos, tequila, mezcal, frijoles negros y arroz, salsa picante, and good guacamole. Anyone who knows me knows I have an affinity for Mexican lagers, especially Ska Brewing’s Mexican Logger, which is my ultimate summer beer. But I’ve never had anything of these things on Mexican soil. I will, one day, backpack my way through Oaxaca, sipping from a bottle of mezcal as I pass through villages with dirt streets, dogs barking, vaqueros passing me by, and an middle-aged Mexican woman, wearing a sundress, flipping tortillas over an open fire.

Until that dream comes true, I’ll have to count my lucky stars that Chynna makes some incredible tacos from scratch. We used to buy pre-made tortillas, the ones that you cook in the pan, not the ones already cooked. As soon as we got to Europe, though, we found it increasingly difficult to find good Mexican ingredients in the stores, especially in Central and Eastern Europe. To adapt, we started making our tortillas from scratch, which we found to be incredibly easy, and with Chynna’s magic touch, absolutely delicious. You, are lucky readers, are in for a treat.

Here’s how to make delicious tortillas from scatch:

Makes about 8 small tortillas

2 cups flour

3/4 cup warm water

3 tablespoons oil

dash of salt

Mix ingredients dry ingredients and oil, then slowly add in water. Knead until dough is smooth. The dough should be slightly sticky, but not enough that it sticks to your hands or bowl. Let dough sit for at least 15 minutes at room temperature.

image.jpg
¡Cinco de Mayo! Taco fiesta in Granada, Spain

Divide the dough into 8 smaller balls. Lightly flour your surface and begin rolling until it is thin. If you are an adult with a full fuctioning kitchen, you can use a roller. If you are like me and have not upgraded to full adult, a smooth cup will work just as well. Note: I have never acheived perfectly round tortillas. Life is too short to measure that out. Plus, there is no reason to worry about uniformity when eating tacos.

Make sure your skillet is super hot before use. Cooking until you have a golden bubble on one side and then flip. Each side does not take long at all so keep your eye on them. ProTip: Use your bare hands to flip your torts. People will be very impressed and never question your taco skills, and you can impress that sundress lady in Oaxaca when you vist.

 

2 thoughts on “Authentic Tortillas From Scratch

    1. Ha-ha! We’ve had to adapt since a surprising number of our hosts don’t have rollers. Maybe we need to travel with a roller from now on…otherwise I guess we can keep drinking from the bottle. It saves dishes, right?

      Like

Leave a Reply

